Home » Health Trusts » Belfast Health and Social Care Trust » ‘Mind the Gap’ Programme Launches in Northern Ireland

‘Mind the Gap’ Programme Launches in Northern Ireland

Carers Trust, in partnership with 13 other like organisations, are excited to announce the launch of the ‘Mind the Gap’ Project.

Mind the Gap is a three year programme which aims to assist 1500 carers (aged 65+) in Northern Ireland (through existing service provision channels, and by identifying gaps in services) to have improved quality of life through better access to advice on benefits and services.

The programme will work to support carers’ address their issues of:

  • poor physical and mental health – particularly related to emotional distress caused by not knowing where to go for help and are left struggling;
  • social isolation – by facilitating access to peer support groups, particularly for those in rural areas;
  • respite – by facilitating access to breaks;
  • lack of confidence – through better access to specialised help and support as well as access to programs desigend to improve technical and life skills specific to their role as carers.

Since the commencement of the Mind the Gap a Northern Ireland Development Manager and five part time support workers (one for each health trust). The partners who will form and Expert Reference Group to steer the three year programme represent some of the most influential organisations in the Province.ealth trust area) have been appointed.

For further details on the project or wants to find out how the programme can assist their organisation then do not hesitate to contact Sean Caughey s.caughey@carers.org  or any of the support workers listed below.

Eileen Sweeney (Belfast Trust) e.sweeney@carers.org

Maureen Gormley (Western Trust) m.gormley@carers.org

Pauline Rice (Southern Trust) p.rice@carers.org

Therese Lowry (Northern Trust) t.lowry@carers.org

Eoin Caughey (South Eastern Trust) e.caughey@carers.org

Check Also

DfC COVID-19 Charities Fund Opening 3rd Aug

The COVID-19 Charities Fund is reopening from Monday 3 August, Communities Minister Carál Ní Chuilín has announced. …